WhatsApp Rolls Out Globally Feature To Prevent People From Adding You To Annoying Groups Plus New Blacklist Feature - TECH FOE

WhatsApp Rolls Out Globally Feature To Prevent People From Adding You To Annoying Groups Plus New Blacklist Feature




Sometime this year, WhatsApp rolled out a new privacy feature for Groups that prevented people from adding you to Groups without your permission, thus, giving users more control on what they want.

Now, WhatsApp is rolling out the Group privacy feature globally for more user alongside a new blacklist feature.


First seen by WABetaInfo, the new feature require Android users to update to version 2.19..298 and iOS users to update to version 2.19.110.20 beta in order to be able to activate the Group Privacy and the Blacklist feature.


The Group Privacy Settings feature has three options which the user will decided that will be able to add he or her to Groups. The options includes; 'Everyone, My Contacts, My Contacts Except...'

In this new update, WhatsApp has removed the 'Nobody' option that was there before and replaced it with the new Blacklist feature. With the new Blacklist feature, users will be able to add admins in the Blacklist so that admins won't be able to add them to Groups.

The feature is being  rolled out to users. However, if you have updated your app and haven't seen the feature yet and you are in desperate of it, you can do so by backing up your chats history and then reinstall your WhatsApp app.

"But is it a must for me to re-install my WhatsApp before i get the latest features?", the answer is no. However, whenever you install or re-install WhatsApp, the most updated configurations are downloaded from the server for you.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.